At St Mary’s, there are many quality teaching and support staff. The staff includes a principal, classroom teachers, a part-time Learning Support Teacher, a Leading Teacher for Literacy and Numeracy Support K-2, a part time EALD support teacher, a part time Gifted Education Mentor, a part time counsellor, Learning Support Assistants, a part-time Teacher-Librarian, part-time Library Assistant and a Clerical Assistant. There is also a cleaner and a grounds person on site part time.

St Mary’s is supported by the Catholic Schools Office in Newcastle, who can provide specialised support and PD to staff as required to assist the school in assessing and addressing individual student’s learning needs.

A highly structured combination of professional development opportunities, access to quality teaching resources and experiences as well as an increased emphasis on wellbeing and parent engagement has been developed to increase student readiness for and engagement in learning. Curriculum differentiation ensures that the needs of students are catered for at all levels.

The Leadership Team is responsible for setting the operational agenda and goals of the school as driven by the Strategic and Annual Plan. 

The leadership team consists of:

Principal: Kim Wilson

Assistant Principal: Genevieve Cook

Religious Education Coordinator: Mary-Jean Cooper

Primary Coordinator: Samantha Kerr

Parish Priest: Fr Velerian D'Souza

Kindergarten - Trish Murray  

Year 1 - Monique Lloyd

Year 1/2 - Stephanie Hicks & Hannah Hunt

Year 2 -  Michelle Harris & Fleur Kennedy

Year 3 - Meaghan Cavallaro

Year 3/4 - Alison Weir

Year 4 - Samantha Kerr

Year 5 - Melissa McLennan

Year 6 - Adam Gehrig

Learning Support Teacher - Tanya Ninness 

Learning Support Assistants - Deb Casson, Libby Ritter, Sally Ward-Thomas, Nadene Douglas

Leading Teacher (Literacy and Numeracy K-2) -  Mary-Jean Cooper 

EALD Teacher - Hannah Hunt

Aboriginal Education & Music Teacher - Diana Gillett 

Pedagogical Mentor - Genevieve Cook

Gifted Education Mentor - Mary-Jean Cooper

Executive Relief Teachers - Genevieve Cook, Diana Gillet & Christie-Lee Clydsdale

Teacher Librarian - Cecilia Thompson 

Library Assistant - Maree McInnes  

School Secretary - Anna Guilfoyle

Pastoral Care Worker - Jan Waters 

Counsellor - Melissa Brown